In Memory of Annie Irvine Deehan

In Memory of our precious Nanny Mitchell

10 years have passed from one of the saddest days of my life when we had to say goodbye to this gem of a woman, my grandmother or Nanny as we called her.

NANNY1.jpg

Annie Irvine Deehan (Mitchell)

23/03/1940 – 22/09/2006

  • Mother of Anna, Donna, Kenny, Wendy, Brian and Bernie.
  • Grandmother of Victoria, Donny, Donna, Debbie, Gordon, Kenny, Boyd, Billie-Jo, Jodie-Lee, Connor & Christie,
  • Great-grandmother of Kieran, Isabella, Graham and Rhys.
  • Wife of Kenny Mitchell.
  • Daughter of Edward Deehan and Elizabeth Aitken.
  • Sister of Margaret, Elizabeth (Betty), Ellen, May, Jeanette and Edward.

Anna or our Nanny was a truly exceptional lady with a heart of gold and loved more than words can tell.   She was a friend to many and loved dearly by her family as she loved them.

We are lucky she endowed our family with an inheritance more valuable than money, showing us the importance of family, of love & compassion and the real treasures in life.

There are times when I so wish she was here so I could pop in for a dose of her banter and a cheer up, to make it all seem better, in perspective like she always seemed to do.  Many of my cousins and aunts and uncles no doubt feel the same too but for now we’ll have to hold her in our hearts.

Mitchell Graveston

On certain days we will visit her grave as I am sure many families do for loved ones lost. Although like the poem below,  and as my nanny used to say of those no longer with us, I like to believe she is all around everyday.

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there. I did not die

Poem by Mary Elizabeth Frye

 

magpie

I hope she was kidding when she said she would like to come back as a magpie and s#@t all over our windows.

She was a crazy (in a good way) woman with a fun outlook on life and I treasure our memories.

Miss you millions nanny.  Till we meet again.

Death leaves a heartache no one can heal. 

Love leaves a memory no one can steal. 

 

One response to “In Memory of Annie Irvine Deehan

Leave a Reply

